TOP PICK

Of all the British television shows out there, most of us probably became exposed to British TV through Monty Python’s Flying Circus when it was on PBS. Even if you’ve never seen an episode, you’ve most likely heard of the show. It was the first British show that I fell in love with, the granddaddy of all British sketch comedy shows. It’s a true classic.

Monty Python’s Flying Circus has become part of our American pop culture. Who hasn’t heard of the “Dead Parrot Sketch” or the “Ministry of Silly Walks?” Who hasn’t sung the songs “I’m a Lumberjack” or “Spam?” And what about the “Spanish Inquisition?” Nobody expects them!

I’m a Pythonoholic. I have the entire series on DVD (the first DVD series I ever bought) and watch it often. Plus I have the two volume book set called “All the Words,” which, of course, includes all the words from the 45 original episodes.

I can recite all of my favorite sketches like “How Not to Be Seen,” “The Cheese Shop,” “Crunchy Frog,” “Self Defense Against Fresh Fruit,” “The Upper Class Twit of the Year,” and “The Piranha Brothers.”

And don’t forget the composer with the longest name – Johann Gambolputty de von Ausfern-schplenden-schlitter-crasscrenbon-fried-digger-dingle-dangle-dongle-dungle-burstein-von-knacker-thrasher-apple-banger-horowitz-ticolensic-grander-knotty-spelltinkle-grandlich-grumblemeyer-spelterwasser-kurstlich-himbleeisen-bahnwagen-gutenabend-bitte-ein-nurnburger-bratwustle-gerspurten-mitz-weinmache-luber-hundsfut-gumberaber-shonendanker-kalbsfleisch-mittler-aucher von Hautkopft of Ulm.

Nudge, nudge, wink, wink, say no more!

MAIN CAST:
Graham Chapman
John Cleese
Eric Idle
Terry Gilliam
Terry Jones
Michael Palin
Carol Cleveland
Connie Booth

Total Seasons: 4 (45 episodes)
Seasons Available on US Formatted DVD: 4
In Production: 1969-1974
Viewer Discretion: Some adult situations

Comments
  1. Ron says:

    It’s only the best of the best that ever was and will be.

  2. britishaisles says:

    Perhaps this might surprise you, but I have never seen anything Monty Python, except half of Holy Grail when I was about 12. I definitely need to watch them, but I am not sure they are my thing. I’m a bit afraid to watch them. If I dislike them, then I will forever have to explain to incredulous people why I don’t like them. Perhaps it’s safer just to say I have never seen them.

  3. YES all of your favorite sketches are also my favorite sketches!! 😀 I’d add (sorry, no idea what it’s called) but the one with the competing architects, where one of them doesn’t seem to realize that he’s designed a slaughterhouse instead of an apartment block. 🙂 And I LOVE How Not to Be Seen! I always forget it until someone mentions it or it pops up on the DVD and I’m like, how could I have forgotten this?!? And not a walk in the woods goes by without one of us continuously pointing out “The Larch.” ❤ Monty Python ❤

    • kleeyaro says:

      Yes, the architect’s sketch is another great one. How about the guy who builds buildings through hypnosis! There are soooo many great ones. 🙂

  4. […] in the world. It’s been featured in the background of countless British TV shows, including Monty Python’s Flying Circus, which was shot inside the […]

  5. […] comedy shows can be hit or miss. They can’t all be Monty Python’s Flying Circus. But these two guys have come up with some recurring characters and spoof sketches that keep you […]

  6. […] in between the sketches, like the most famous of all absurd sketch comedy shows, Monty Python’s Flying Circus, A Bit of Fry and Laurie features many men (and women) on the street commenting on unrelated […]

  7. […] Monty Python’s Flying Circus, Michael Palin, Terry Jones, Eric Idle, and later Terry Gilliam, were members of the cast of the […]

Leave a comment